Skills based video conferencing logo

Workwise: Skills based video conferencing (SbVC)

Telebehavioral health can assist with the expansion of services and improve client outcomes. It is essential to ensure that professionals providing services using videoconferencing mediums obtain comprehensive and specific training and supervision to offer the best quality of care. This series offers a unique interactive experience that provides shared consultation to professionals delivering counseling in an online environment. The series is structured to provide online consultation, skill-based learning and practice, group and self-study activities, reading assignments, and discussion on topics essential to providing services using videoconferencing mediums.

WHEN:

Every Wednesday, July 15th – August 26th

10-11:30 am Alaska | 11- 12:30 Pacific | 12-1:30 pm Mountain | 1-2:30 pm Central | 2-3:30 pm Eastern

OBJECTIVES:

  • Describe and demonstrate the role of Telebehavioral Health in the continuum of clinical services
  • Identify the professional code of conduct for specific professional association
  • Discuss the legal and jurisdictional implications for individual practice
  • Explain how to identify, locate, and experience online support groups

TARGET AUDIENCE:

  • Mental Health providers working with American Indian or Alaska Native populations
  • Support the idea of using technology to provide clinical services
  • Baseline knowledge of web-based videoconferencing for use in clinical practice
  • Currently use or plan to incorporate videoconferencing into clinical and/or recovery services

PARTICIPANT COMMITMENT AND EXPECTATIONS:

  • Prior to the first session on July 15th, view a 20-minute video tutorial on how to use the Zoom video-conference platform
  • Attend a live, one-hour Orientation session on Wednesday, July 15th at 11:00 PT, 12:00 MT, 1:00 CT, 2:00 ET to demonstrate mastery of the basic technology skills required to participate
  • Commit to 6 weeks of training: for 1.5 hours weekly on scheduled series days/time AND complete ONE hour of weekly learning activity
  • Access to appropriate technology to utilize online videoconferencing platform (i.e., web-camera, internet connections, laptop/tablet, built-in/USB/Bluetooth speakers and microphone)
  • Be prepared and actively engaged while remaining on camera at least 90% of the scheduled series time

TRAINERS/FACILITATORS:

  • Maryellen Evers, LCSW, CAADC
  • Matt Ignacio, PhD, MSSW
  • Avis Garcia, PhD

There is no cost to participate in a series. The first 30 registrants will receive a scholarship that covers the entire $350 cost of participation. As grant-sponsored scholarship recipients and in order to receive continuing education hours, it is expected participants will view the 20-minute video tutorial; attend the live technology training; be prepared for and join each session; and actively engage in group discussions.  Due to limited enrollment, if you cannot commit to the full participant requirements, please defer this registration opportunity to others.

PLEASE NOTE: Registrants enrolled in this series are required to attend the first two sessions on July 15th and July 22nd. If you cannot attend these sessions, you will forfeit your attendance. In addition, it is expected that participants will have access to all appropriate technology by Week 3 (July 29th) in order to fully participate and will be on camera at least 90% of the time. This is not a webinar series and active participation to gain/improve skills is required.

If you have questions, please email the MPATTC Workwise Staff at workwise@casat.org or by phone at 775-784-6265 or 866-617-2816 (toll-free).

Continuing Education – The series has been approved for a total of 16 contact hours through the National Association for Addiction Professionals (NAADAC), International Certification & Reciprocity Consortium (IC&RC), and the National Board for Certified Counselors (NBCC) ACEP No. 6492. No credit will be awarded for non-attendance or partial attendance.

The knowledge and skills learned should be applied within the framework of any applicable Operating and/or Credentialing regulations in your State of practice.

Click to Register
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search