Skills based video conferencing logo

Telebehavioral health can assist with the expansion of services and improve client outcomes. It is essential to ensure that professionals providing services using videoconferencing mediums obtain comprehensive and specific training and supervision to offer the best quality of care. This series offers a unique interactive experience that provides shared consultation to professionals delivering counseling in an online environment. The series is structured to provide online consultation, skill-based learning and practice, group and self-study activities, reading assignments, and discussion on topics essential to providing services using videoconferencing mediums.

When:

Every Thursday, January 14th – February 25th, 10-11:30 PT, 11-12:30 MT, 12-1:30 CT, 1-2:30 ET

Objectives:

  • Describe and demonstrate the role of telemental health in the continuum of clinical services
  • Identify the professional code of conduct for specific professional association
  • Discuss the legal and jurisdictional implications for individual practice
  • Explain how to identify, locate, and experience online support groups

Target Audience:

  • Mental Health providers working with American Indian or Alaska Native populations
  • Support the idea of using technology to provide clinical services
  • Currently use or plan to incorporate telemental health/videoconferencing into clinical and/or recovery services

Participant Commitment and Expectations:

  • Access to appropriate technology to utilize Zoom videoconferencing platform (internet connection, webcam, computer/tablet, speakers and microphone)
  • Attend a live, one-hour Orientation session on Thursday, January 14th at 10:00 PT, 11:00 MT, 12:00 CT, 1:00 ET to demonstrate mastery of the basic technology skills required to participate
  • Commit to 6 weeks of training: for 1.5 hours weekly on scheduled series days/time AND complete ONE hour of weekly learning activity
  • Be prepared and actively engaged while remaining on camera at least 90% of the scheduled series time

Trainers/Facilitators:

  • Maryellen Evers, LCSW, CAADC
  • Avis Garcia, PhD

There is no cost to participate in a series.

The first 30 registrants will receive a scholarship that covers the entire $500 cost of participation.

Please Note:

Registrants enrolled in this series are required to attend the first two sessions on January 14th and January 21st. If you cannot attend these sessions, you will forfeit your attendance.

In addition, it is expected that participants will have access to the appropriate technology by January 21st in order to fully participate and be on camera at least 90% of the time. This is not a webinar series and active participation to gain/improve skills are required.

Due to limited enrollment, if you cannot commit to the full participant requirements, please defer this online training series opportunity to others.  Registration is not transferable to another person. If you have not received a welcome email by January 13th, please check your spam folder.

Continuing Education:

The series has been approved for a total of 16 contact hours through the National Association for Addiction Professionals (NAADAC), International Certification & Reciprocity Consortium (IC&RC), and the National Board for Certified Counselors (NBCC) ACEP No. 6492. No credit will be awarded for non-attendance or partial attendance.

The knowledge and skills learned should be applied within the framework of any applicable Operating and/or Credentialing regulations in your State of practice.

American Indian Alaska Native MHTTC Logo

accessibility icon

All links in this series will open up as new windows in your browser. Please contact Workwise if you have any access issues.

Click to Register